Foren

ZUR TESLA-COMMUNITY
REGISTRIERENEinloggen

Adding a second gear for speed above 100mph?

I know Tesla must have their reasons for having only one gear on MS, but why not consider adding a second gear for driving above 100 mph or so? Sure no one really drives above 100 mph in normal driving conditions, but all other high end luxury vehicles all have top speed above 160 mph.

I am sure if Tesla would just add a second gear, the MS can easily achieve that top speed without sacrificing too much range while operating above 100 mph.

I am no mechanic, but I can understand the added mechanism for the gear changing will require extra space on the vehicle, and probably causing aerodynamic problems, but I am sure as battery technology improve, the extra space saved from reduced battery size can compensate for that.

And I do believe, by having more than one gear, Tesla can improve power usage rate at higher speed with higher gears.

Do you guys have any opinions regarding this matter?

The roadster originally was developed using a two speed grear box. However, they had problems getting it to handle the massive instantaneous torque that the motor could produce, so they went fo a single speed.
I can see tesla using a higher gear ratio on 4 wheel drive cars when the battery tech allows for the extra power and current draw, thereby maintaining acceleration and also a higher top speed. This way it is kept simple.

There is no clutch, mechanical or fluid. The freewheel state is tied to regen- the motor always turns when the car moves. Adding a transmission instead would be heavy, expensive, and would degrade the instant torque response.

I say NO.

DT;
+1

Not going to happen for the S. Maybe for the super car Elon's got in mind for the next generation of Roadster.

I agree with DTsea. If there is a demand, the battery capacity improves and costs fall, the induction motor can be upgraded with extra stator winding and rotor cage plus inverter.