Foren

ZUR TESLA-COMMUNITY
REGISTRIERENEinloggen

any former S550 owners?

I've got my test drive scheduled for this afternoon. I'm on the fence right now; we'll see what happens after the test drive! This seems like a step down (on luxury/options only though).

This seems like a step down (on luxury/options only though)
Oh my, this should get the ball rolling (again)...
(ducks and runs)

I owned and S550, Saks Fifth Limited Edition, from July 2009 to February 2013. I gave it to my father when I wanted to change vehicles this year, since he talked about how much he loved it since I got.

I upgraded to a 2013 Bentley Continental GT V8 in February. Now, the price of the Bentley was double that of the S550. Initially, I loved everything about it, but soon began realizing that the technology in the Bentley was light years behind even the S550. Me, personally, I'm a tech nerd, so awesome technology in a car that works very smoothly is more important to me than pretty wood and leather that you get used to in a few weeks. Sure, those things are nice, but technology trumps both for me.

Needless to say, I'm waiting to take delivery of my P85+, then I'll be saying good riddance to the gas hogging, technologically inferior Bentley.

I can't wait, thank you Tesla! Now give us U.S. people some retrofit parking sensors and I'll be all set. I've come to greatly love and rely on those after driving high end cars in the P85+'s price range for the last decade.

OP reminds me of the people that, in 2007, complained about the iPhone not having enough buttons...

Are you comparing to a W221 (pre-2014 MY) or W222 (MY 2014) S550?

Do you need AWD? I am an E550 4MATIC owner and I too am shopping for my next car. I love the Model S but I am most likely going to go for the S550 4MATIC because I still can't order a MS with AWD. Living in the north east not having AWD is a deal-breaker for me as no non-AWD vehicle came make up the steep hill to my house without AWD in the winter with snow.