Forums

Join The Community
RegisterLogin

$2000+ for a NEMA 14-50 installation??

I don't often work with electrical contractors, so the experience of getting an outlet installed while I wait for my Model S to be manufactured is a bit of a mystery to me. I'm in Montgomery County, Maryland. The contractor that SolarCity had contact me asked me to just send him some pictures of the installation location and measurements of the length of cable required. As far as I can see, the wire will have to go through two walls and possibly one floor, and run about 50ft total. But then again, I'm not an electrician! Based on my photos, he quoted a price of $2150 to SolarCity. I thought this was crazy, so I called another electrician who I found online, described the project to him, and he estimated $650 over the phone. I'm a little dissatisfied with this whole process, since most of my experience with home contractors has the contractor coming to the house for free to check out the site and provide an estimate. After all, there might be all kinds of difficulties in running the wire that I don't know about since I'm don't have their expertise. Do I need to keep looking for contractors? Is there any advantage to going specifically with the SolarCity recommendation? What's a good price for this job?

Mine was a short run about 6 feet away from the panel. It only cost $495. That included replacing 4-5 breakers with skinnier ones to fit in the new 50A breaker.

I had a 14-50 installed in my garage. A new 50A fuse was put in, a line drawn across the top of the garage (about 50 feet), a line pulled down through the wall, and a 14-50 box installed near where I park the car. I believe I paid around $700 for it. Your cost depends on the time it takes to drill (if you are going through floors and walls) but $2k seems a bit high if there aren't any major hurdles they have to overcome to get the wiring done. If you are getting a quote for $2k, I'd get a few other quotes.

-Joe