Forums

Join The Community
RegisterLogin

Model S 0-60 times better than published (both 85 and 60's)

http://insideevs.com/does-tesla-underrate-the-acceleration-of-the-model-...

“The Model S 60 was amazing consistent running 3 consecutive 0-60 MPH runs in just 5.1 seconds with 0-100 MPH coming in at 12.8 seconds and the 1/4 mile in 13.7 @ 102.8 MPH. This is significantly quicker and faster than what Tesla quotes and actually beats Tesla’s numbers for the Tesla Model S 85 Non-Performance.”

Same for the P85. From what I've heard Tesla SW updates since Tesla first published have had some impact on the results. Optimization in traction control and energy mgmt from battery packs, tec.

The best I was able to get in my S60 was 5.5, and 100 @ 14.2... Though I'm not a pro driver and my methodology probably left something to be desired.

http://www.teslamotors.com/forum/forums/060-mph-60-kwh-model-s-faster-pu...

It's really tough to say because there are all kinds of methodologies for testing this. Some do the rollout and some don't. Some people use external equipment to measure it, and some people rely on the speedometer (which doesn't really update that fast).

In real world conditions the S60, and S85 are about the same at around 5.5sec +/- .3 or so.

If you're an acceleration nut your best cars are

P85/P85+ -> Around 3.9-4.2 sec or so
2014 911 Turbo -> Around 2.9 seconds (there might be something else under $150K for this time).

It is really amusing that it takes a $150K car that weighs considerably less to beat the 0-60 time of a Tesla P85. Of course what's great on a drag strip doesn't always bode well for the track where you actually have to take a corner.

@S4WRXTTCS - Based on my tests, the speedometer updates *at least* 12 times a second (I saw every mile from 0 - 12 in 30 frames of video footage), so it's less than 0.1 sec off. I suspect less than that because it seems like the numbers drop faster while braking.