Forums

JOIGNEZ-VOUS À LA COMMUNAUTÉ
INSCRIVEZ-VOUSIdentifiant

Wiring for NEMA 14-50 outlet in garage...need your thoughts

Hey, all, I have two estimates for installing the NEMA 14-50 outlet in our garage for use with the UMC. The main difference among them is the choice of wiring.

One is proposing to use "#6 Romex," which I assume is 6/3 copper, for $450.

One is proposing to use "#6 SER AL wire type XHHW," which is aluminum and rated for 50Amps at 75'C (per http://www.barr-thorp.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/Digest-176-NEC-Tabl...), for $350.

I'm not very jazzed about the idea of aluminum wiring. Anyone with electrical experience have some advice or opinions?

Thanks in advance.

Stick with the copper wire! My experience with aluminum is that it gets hotter, eventually causing high resistance in the connection. P.s. I am not an electrician, but have had poor experience with homes wired with aluminum. PG&E uses aluminum for the supply line. Hope this helps!

I would stick with the copper. If its romex, should have the w/g designation (with ground), meaning two hots, a neutral, and a ground wire, for 4 wires total. Ground wire can be number 8 copper.

How far is your wire run? and are you putting the wire inside the wall of a finished garage? My understanding on Romex is that it needs to be inside a wall, and not on the outside where it can get damaged. I used 3/4" conduit and ran individual wire inside since I did not want to tear into the drywall of the garage.

#6 aluminum will get hotter than #6 copper. The conductors are the same diameter. Copper is a better conductor, will have less power loss, and therefore will be more efficient. A better comparison would be #4 aluminum vs #6 copper. The electrician who quoted copper expected a relatively long length of wire or he might have quoted #8.

Best source of info in this is this very comprehensive thread over at TMC. Explains everything:

http://www.teslamotorsclub.com/archive/index.php/t-12615.html